Total $0.00


WASHINGTON---Stanley Turkel has been named the recipient of the Historic Hotels of America 2014 Historian of the Year Award. Turkel will be honored with this distinguished award on October 2, 2014 at the Historic Hotels of America Annual Awards Ceremony and Gala Dinner at The Hotel Hershey® (1933) in Hershey, Pennsylvania.

The Historic Hotels of America Historian of the Year Award is presented to an individual for making a unique contribution in the research, and presentation of history and whose work has encouraged a wide discussion of greater understanding and enthusiasm for American History.

Stanley Turkel is one of the most distinctive and widely-published authors in the hospitality field. More than 275 articles on various hotel subjects have been published in the leading hotel magazines and websites. Two of his hotel books, Great American Hoteliers: Pioneers of the Hotel Industry and Built to Last: 100+ Year-Old Hotels East of the Mississippi, have been promoted, distributed, and sold by the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute. A third hotel book, Built to Last: 100+ Year-Old Hotels in New York was called "passionate and informative" by The New York Times. His fourth hotel book Hotel Mavens: Boomer, Boldt and Oscar of the Waldorf will be published by the end of 2014.

In addition, Stanley Turkel is a well-recognized authority and consultant in the hotel industry. Prior to forming his hotel consulting firm, Turkel was the Product Line Manager for Hotel/Motel Operations at the International Telephone & Telegraph Co. overseeing the Sheraton Corporation of America. Before joining IT&T, he was the General Manager of the Summit Hotel (762 guestrooms), General Manager of the Drake Hotel (680 guestrooms), and Resident Manager of the Americana Hotel (1842 guestrooms), all in New York City, New York.

Turkel serves as a Friend of the Tisch Center and lectures at the NYU Tisch Center for Hospitality, Tourism, and Sports Management. He is certified as a Master Hotel Supplier Emeritus by the Educational Institute of the American Hotel and Lodging Association. He served for eleven years as Chairman of the Board of the Trustees of the City Club of New York and is now the Honorary Chairman.

“We are pleased to name Stanley Turkel as the recipient of the Historic Hotels of America 2014 Historian of the Year Award,” said Lawrence Horwitz, Executive Director of Historic Hotels of America and Historic Hotels Worldwide. “Turkel stimulates significant interest in Historic Hotels. He makes you want to travel back in time to the early days of these historic hotels and feel as if you were there. He points out the importance of historic hotels in U.S. commerce and history while telling us about many inventions that we take for granted in hotels today such as indoor plumbing, elevators, indoor electric lights, and more. Turkel brings the stories of these treasured historic hotels to life.”

Stanley Turkel remarked, "as Omar Khayyam, poet and prophet wrote more than 800 years ago, in the four parts of the earth there are many that are able to write learned books, many that are able to lead armies, and many also that are able to govern kingdoms and empires, but few there be that can keep a hotel.” Turkel added, “I am delighted and thrilled, it is a wonderful honor to be recognized as the recipient of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America Historian of the Year.”

Nominations for the 2014 Historic Hotels of America Annual Awards have been extended until August 15. Nominee submissions can be made at Categories include: Best Historic Hotel (ranging in size), Best Historic Resort, Legendary Family Historic Hoteliers of the Year, Best Historic Restaurant in Conjunction with a Historic Hotel, New Member of the Year, and many others. Nominations from fellow hoteliers and industry leaders are encouraged. Eligible nominees include members of Historic Hotels of America, including past award recipients. Nominations from travel writers, American historians, travel editors, and historic preservationists are encouraged.

Tickets for the Historic Hotels of America 2014 Awards ceremony and gala dinner are still available. The gala dinner will take place at the historic Hotel Hershey® on Thursday, October 2 at 7 PM. Tickets for the awards ceremony and dinner are $160 for one seat and $1,250 per table (for 8 seats). Contact the Historic Hotels of America +202 772 8000 or to reserve tickets. 

About Historic Hotels of America®

Historic Hotels of America is the official program of the National Trust for Historic Preservation® for recognizing and celebrating the finest Historic Hotels. Historic Hotels of America was founded in 1989 by the National Trust for Historic Preservation with 32 charter members. Today, Historic Hotels of America has more than 250 historic hotels. These historic hotels have all faithfully maintained their authenticity, sense of place, and architectural integrity in the United States of America, including 46 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico. Historic Hotels of America is comprised of mostly independently owned and operated properties. More than 30 of the world’s finest hospitality brands, chains, and collections are represented in Historic Hotels of America. To be nominated and selected for membership into this prestigious program, a hotel must be at least 50 years old; has been designated by the U.S. Secretary of the Interior as a National Historic Landmark or listed in or eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places; and recognized as having historic significance. For more information, please visit

To view the Historic Hotels of America 2014 Annual Directory, click here

Contact: Heather Taylor / +1 202-772-8333

Related News

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 193: Hotel History: John McEntee Bowman*(1875-1931)

The Statler Dallas Celebrated as the 300th Hotel Inducted Into Historic Hotels of America

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 192; Hotel History: The Negro Motorist Green Book

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 191: Hotel History: “Buffalo Bill” Cody

CBRE Issues U.S. Lodging and 2018-2019 Historic Hotels Forecast at Historic Hotels of America Annual Conference

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 190: Hotel History: Moana Surfrider Hotel

30 Legendary Historic Hotels Inducted into Historic Hotels Worldwide in 2017

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 189; Hotel History: The Boar’s Head

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 188: Hotel History: The Pierre Hotel, New York City*

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 187: Hotel History: Hotel Galvez & Spa, Galveston, Texas

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 186: Hotel History: The Harvard Club of New York (1894)*

2017's Top 25 Most Haunted Historic Hotels from Historic Hotels of America

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 185: Hotel History: The Peabody (1869)

Historic Hotels Names Winners of the 2017 Awards of Excellence

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 184: Hotel History: The Beverly Hills Hotel

Historic Hotels of America Honors Duane and Kelly Roberts with 2017 Historic Hotels of America Lifetime Achievement Award

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 183: Hotel History: The Stanley Hotel (1909)

Florida's The Don CeSar Names Seasoned Executives to Key Leadership Roles

Florida's Historic Don CeSar Appoints Michael Molloy as Executive Chef

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 182: Hotel History: Eldridge Hotel (1855)

All News »

Please login or register to post a comment.